Vicky Entwistle Quits Corrie

Hello and welcome to A Slice Of Soap. There’s still time to enter this week’s caption competition so get scribbling and make us all laugh.

Sad news soapsters: Vicky Entwistle, best known to us as Weatherfield battleaxe Janice Battersby, has decided to leave Coronation Street after 14 years. The 41-year-old actress, who’s been in the soap since 1997, said that her decision to bow out was based around her ambition for other acting roles.

Yesterday, however, it was suggested in The Sun newspaper, that Ms Entwistle’s decision had been influenced by disputes with soap boss Phil Collinson over her character and future storylines. 

Responding to the rumours, the actresse told The Sun: "There was no bust-up. Phil is lovely. I wanted to shake off a character I’ve played for 14 years." She added: "I’ll miss the great friends I’ve made during my time in Coronation Street, but I know we’ll stay in touch and I’m grateful to be part of the show’s 50th anniversary as it’s a huge landmark in British television."

The show’s producer Phil Collinson commented: "’When she first appeared on screen in 1996, Janice Battersby caused a stir and has continued to do so ever since.  She’ll be missed by us all and we wish her well."

Hey guys, I can’t believe that Janice Battersby’s leaving Corrie… it seems like only yesterday that ITV were announcing the arrival of the Battersby family on the cobbles. Let’s just hope that she’s not one of the casualties of the 50th anniversary tram crash, cos I’d like to think that we haven’t quite seen the last of one of Coronation Street’s best-loved characters.

So, how do you think Janice Battersby should be written out of Coronation Street? Let us know your thoughts by leaving a comment.

That’s it for me, I’m out of here. Join me on Friday for the result of this week’s caption competition. Got a comment about your favourite soap, this blog or anything else? Share it with me (but keep it clean!).

Official Sites
Coronation Street
Emmerdale
EastEnders
Hollyoaks

Ms Bubbles
MSN’s Eye On Soaps

Share It

 del.icio.us   Digg   Facebook   Google 
 Live Spaces   MySpace   Newsvine   Reddit 
 StumbleUpon   Technorati   Twitter   Yahoo! My Web 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

