Corrie’s Kelly Crabtree is leaving

Hello and welcome to another edition of A Slice Of Soap. There’s still time to enter this week’s caption competition so get scribbling and make us all laugh.  

Bad news Corrie fans. A real shocker. Actress Tupele Dorgu, who plays Kelly Crabtree, has decided to leave Coronation Street early next year.

 
She will be departing when her current contract ends, after a stint of five years in the show.
 
ITV’s Coronation Street website reports that departure, the factory worker will find herself the object of Gail’s returning prodigal son Nick Tilsley (who’ll be played by Footballers’ Wives star Ben Price).
 
Speaking of her decision to leave the show, Tupele Dorgu said: "I feel privileged to have been part of such an iconic show for five years and I am grateful to everyone at Coronation Street for the opportunities I have been given. I have however decided to leave the show and am very excited about seeking new challenges and opportunities within the industry.”
 
 
Well I’m really depressed by this news. I was hoping that the writers would pair Kelly with Lloyd once more and make them into a modern day Jack and Vera. Guess that won’t happen now. However, it’s always never say never in soaps. So many leave but eventually, they return again. Just look at Emma Atkins in Emmerdale.
 
But how do you feel about the loss of Corrie’s Kelly Crabtree? Are you glad to see her go or do you think it’s about time? Let us know by leaving a comment.
 

That’s it for me, I’m out of here. Don’t forget to try our caption competition and join me on Monday for a full preview of your favourite soaps. Got a comment about your favourite soap, this blog or anything else? Share it with me.

Official Sites
Coronation Street
Emmerdale
EastEnders
Hollyoaks

Ms Bubbles
MSN’s Eye On Soaps

Share It

 del.icio.us   Digg   Facebook   Google 
 Live Spaces   MySpace   Newsvine   Reddit 
 StumbleUpon   Technorati   Twitter   Yahoo! My Web 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Corrie’s Kelly Crabtree is leaving

  1. Angel says:

    I personally am so glad she is going, I didn\’t like her character, thought her clothes were awful and at times she was so rude, how anyone did not punch her in the 5 yrs she was in corrie I will never know!! good riddance

  2. lis says:

    I am sorry to see kelly go. I love seeing dizzy kelly on screen made me laugh, doesnt leave many younger characters in the soap soon it will be called OAP STREET. I hope she doesnt leave for long and decides to come back

  3. clive says:

    Glad to see her go,terrible actress

  4. Lesley says:

    Not bothered either way. I glaze over when she appears. Just relieved it isn\’t an important character who\’s leaving.

  5. Laura says:

    I\’m glad, I\’ve never liked her haha

  6. christine says:

    Always thought she was a waste of space in the programme.

  7. Pauline says:

    I thought she was really funny, brought a bit of humour to the show! Her full potential was never allowed in the few storylines she was highlighted in! Hope she gets better opportunities than she had in coro.

  8. jack says:

    jesus christ how people get jobs like this and then leave so many mistakes in is beyond me \’factor worker\’ come on

  9. sheila says:

    She was like an extra item on the street, she will go on to extraordinary things good luck to her .

  10. Soap Blogger says:

    Jack, I\’ve corrected the mistake and added the \’Y\’. It\’s an easy one to make when you\’re rushing for a deadline. I\’ve seen much worse mistakes than that on big news sites…

  11. laurie says:

    How can any one say that they are glad to see Tupele leave she was never given any decent story lines.if yopu want bad acting and crap characters just look at the Ghastly Windass tribe I stopped watching when they moved in as they are an insult to anyone\’s intelligence.

Leave a Reply

