John Thomson Joins The Cast Of Corrie

 
Hello and welcome to today’s edition of A Slice Of Soap. 
 
Casting news first as all the soaps are busy adding people: two blonde lookers for Hollyoaks, Josie Lawrence for Enders and now Coronation Street executives have confirmed that Cold Feet’s John Thomson is to join the soap on a full-time basis. The 39-year-old – whose other small screen credits include Skins, Blackpool and New Street Law – is set to return to Weatherfield in the spring. Insiders also said that he’ll get together with Eileen Grimshaw (Sue Cleaver), before moving in with Peter Barlow (Chris Gascoyne). 

Many of you will recall that he first appeared in Corrie last year, dressed as a cowboy for Amy McDonald’s birthday party in The Rovers. They kinda suggested a romance was on the cards when Eileen stepped in to play his Indian princess after his girlfriend dumped him. 

A source told the Sun: "Producers went the extra mile to get him. He’s worked with Chris and Sue before and the chemistry between them was perfect." John, who played entertainer Jesse Chadwick, joked: "I knew I was coming back this time because they gave me a surname!" Ha,ha – that’s funny!

So – how do we feel about this? I’m not sure if I’m convinced about the character yet but it’s early days. As for the idea of the fabulous Eileen as his love interest, well, I reckon that’s a good move. Eileen is a very good character and I usually find myself wishing that the writers would find a way to use her more often. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, Corrie needs a strong couple to filll the gap left by Jack and Vera Duckworth who in turn filled the gap left by Stan and Hilda Ogden. These iconic couples were simply the best when it came to providing the show with memorable comedy moments – but also, tragic ones too. Sometimes I think that Kevin and Sally are moving in that direction – I love the way they’ve made her like Hyacinth Bucket, turning her nose up at everyone when she’s not much better.

I wish they’d pair Lloyd with Kelly Crabtree again – I’m convinced there’s good storylines there. Either way, it’s about time Corrie had a new golden couple – you know, a bit like the Obamas; a President and First Lady of the soap. Will funnyman John Thompson and Eileen Grimshaw become the new Jack and Vera? 

 
That’s it for me, I’m out of here. Join me on Friday for more soap news and gossip. Got a comment about your favourite soap, this blog or anything else? Share it with me.
 

Official Sites
Coronation Street
Emmerdale
EastEnders
Hollyoaks

Ms Bubbles
MSN’s Eye On Soaps

Share It

 del.icio.us

 Digg

 Facebook

 Google

 Live Spaces

 MySpace

 Newsvine

 Reddit

 StumbleUpon

 Technorati

 Twitter

 Yahoo! My Web
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to John Thomson Joins The Cast Of Corrie

  1. dorothy says:

    Its Debbie Dingle not Donna

Leave a Reply

