Tissues Ready! Hollyoaks’ Max Bows Out

Hello and welcome to today’s edition of A Slice of Soap. It’s a sad day for fans of Hollywoodoaks (as I’ve dubbed the soap – cos it’s the one with all the beautiful people). Actor Matt Littler, who played Max Cunningham, is leaving after 11 years. Max lost his father Gordon and stepmother Helen in a car crash while in his early twenties, and – along with help from best friend OB (played by Darren Jeffries) – was forced to raise their son Tom, alone.

The surrogate dads soon became two of the show’s most popular characters, and when they announced their departure, the producers were keen to give them both a great finale. In February, OB left the fictional borough of Hollyoaks in Chester to be with his screen-girlfriend Summer, who had just landed the part of Maria in The Sound of Music in London (confusingly in real life as well as in soap land), and now it’s Max’s turn to leave.

Speculation about the manner of his departure has been rife over the last month or so and leaks to various publications and forums hasn’t exactly made it difficult to guess Max’s fate.  

I don’t think I’m sharing any state secrets here when I say that it’s not going to be a happy ending, despite a seemingly happy occasion. Matt Littler said: "Max and Steph are going to get married and OB is going to be the best man. I think that’s the highest point of happiness in Max’s life. After the wedding he nips off to the flat to grab a wedding present for Steph and on the way back sees Tom playing in the middle of the road. At the same time Niall is revving his car so Max starts to run towards Tom to get him out the way. As Max sets off, so does Niall, not realising that he’s driving towards Tom at 70 mph. Max manages to push Tom out the way, but Max is not so lucky." This dramatic scene is bound to shock viewers, and Matt reveals: "There’s no chance of a comeback. I think it’s important to end the story properly."

Is it just me? Am I the only person wishing that soaps wouldn’t play this ‘leaking spoilers’ game? Imagine how much more powerful Max’s departure would be if the viewer had absolutely no idea what was going to happen? Take the imminent departure of Corrie hunk Liam Connor. Actor Rob James-Collier is on his way but instead of wondering what’s going to happen to his character, we’re left to wonder who’s going to do the dirty deed because the big secret’s been leaked. And the treatment isn’t restricted to humans – even dogs get it. You’d have to be living on Mars not to know that Wellard’s gonna shuffle off this mortal coil soon. What am I saying? Martian’s probably know too….

Official Sites
Coronation Street
Emmerdale
EastEnders
Hollyoaks

That’s it for now. Join me on Monday for a full preview of all the week’s action in the soaps. Got a comment about your favourite soap, this blog or anything else? Share it with me.

Ms Bubbles
MSN’s Eye On Soaps
Don’t miss a trick – Add MSN Reality TV Agent to your IM contacts

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Tissues Ready! Hollyoaks’ Max Bows Out

  1. Hayley says:

    did you actually do your own stunts or was it only by the computer to show it\’s real

  2. Mark says:

    Why did he actually leave for??

  3. Claire says:

    :O
    I almost cried.
    Actually, tell a lie, I did.
    It was horribly sad. I had to keep reminding myself \’\’It\’s not real! It\’s not real!\’\’
    I think it was Tom\’s reaction.
    🙂 On the brighter side of things, he\’s good at acting dead. Lol!
    Why am I commenting, those people can\’t even speak english.
    Ok, I am of many words, so what.

  4. Sam says:

    Tears literally streaminging down my face + being the ONLY one in a room of 8 people crying = :[ *crindges of embarrassement* Clearly the only one in the room with a heart not made a stone. lolI competely agree with the constant leaking of story lines out. These days you only have to press i on sky to see what happens! Yawn. I stayed away from how Max died (with great difficulty) but i managed too…just, i thought it was heart attack related. So it was dramatic. You should be able to not have every up and coming story shoved in your face. A simple title will do, and a BRIEF description. Not the running commentary you get now, its like listening to a tennis/football match on the radio…you get told EVERYTHING. It takes away from how powerful storylines can be. On a lighter note, any decisions on which Watch it will be? Gus Watch was my favorite bit about a slice of soap and i miss iiiit :[

  5. Lisa says:

    i cried my little eyes out 😦
     
    i love hollyoaks n am really going 2 miss max, he made the show
    things arent going 2 b the same witout him.
    i nearlly give up watching it lol
    and wee toms face just made me worse
     
    y did he leave?? wasnt happy like lol
     
    xxxxx

  6. Rhiannon says:

    Omg 😦
    Like the other people commentng here, i too cried my heart out lol
    Whyyyy did he have to leave?! 😦
     
    I only started watching hollyoaks properly a couple of weeks ago and straight away as soon as i saw Max i thought he was brilliant 🙂
    A great character played by a great actor….and now hes gone *sniff*
    Will Hollyoaks be the same?
    I dont know but im definately going to miss him!

  7. Tahira says:

    Pretty Random But.. i Saw Matt Littler in Coming Out Of A Holiday inn A Couple Days Ago.. Lol
    Gonna Miss Him Anyway.. i Cried Too When i Saw it.. x
     

  8. Soap Blogger says:

    Thanks for your comments everyone. Sam, there will be a new \’Friday Fun Feature\’ on A Slice Of Soap this week. Nothing can replace Gus Watch, but I\’ll do my best!

  9. ian says:

    Omg it was so upsettin when hollyoaks show matts exit, i was in tears .. great episode. he will be well missed x

  10. Rebeccax26x says:

    I dont cry at anything!!!!  People always say, \’It must be sad if i\’d cry\’, and then they wouldnt watch it!!!  I cried so so much!!!  I broke my heart!!  I even made myself late for work just to watch it too!!!! I still can\’t believe max is dead. I really feel for steph!!  But Good Luck Matt and Darren in all that you do, you will be great at anything!!! XXX RIP MAX XXX

  11. yayy says:

    omg what the hell ? people crying over an ACTOR  in a SOAP i would love to see how you deal with REAL life or can you not get a grasp on that ? no thought not . and people wonder why this country is a mess * sighs *

  12. Soap Blogger says:

    Dave – so the country\’s in a mess because of soaps? News to me.

  13. Louise says:

    i agree with the comments about knowing whats going to happen, even though i\’ve been a week behind in Hollyoaks, i still read the telly pages and saw what was happening! I just couldn\’t help myself! I bawled my eyes out when Max died and even though I knew how it was going to happen I still gasped when it did! it\’s a sad loss for them to lose 2 great characters, what\’s gonna happen to Tom now?? I have watched it from the beginning so it\’s going to be weird not seeing them – i know, it\’s only a tv show – how sad! RIP Max Cunningham xx

  14. matt says:

    So why would he be driving at 70 mph suddenly. What was the road , the M56?

  15. linda says:

    y do people think that soaps are made up there about what real people go through there there filmed in a fake place and have actors but the story lines are real

  16. Unknown says:

    i never usually cry at anything… i knew how it happened and when i watched it, the car just his him,,, it was one of the most realistic deaths in soap history….. i cried my eyes out…. R.I.P MAX CUNNINGHAM

  17. paul says:

    I have watched emmerdale since it was emmerdale farm what a character clive you will
    be sorely missed you were emmerdale my thoughts are with your family

  18. emily says:

    max i will miss you.

  19. emily says:

    Clive my you rest in peace you will be missed.

  20. David says:

    Max was a great character and involved in one of the best jokes I\’ve seen on television, when one of the characters was describing his "gladiator name" as Maxilingus Cunnilin… well, you get the idea. I was hoping it was going to be Jack or Tom, not Max (does that make me bad).

Leave a Reply

