How To Hype Boring Corrie Storylines

Hello and welcome to A Slice Of Soap. Coronation Street’s assistant producer has been hinting at the forthcoming plotlines in the soap. Speaking to Digital Spy, Gavin Blyth first dealt with the issue of actress Julia Haworth’s upcoming maternity leave, saying: "It would be all too easy to contrive a storyline to split Ashley and Claire up – but that isn’t the case. After the trying time of last year, they are stronger than ever. But a disastrous house swap with Sally and Kevin could see them seeking sanctuary in the coming months… It’s a very traditional, fun Coronation Street story with families and friends soon turning foes."

OK. It’s no secret that I find Ashley and Clurrrrrrrrrrr about as interesting as a blank piece of white paper or watching grass grow and I really wouldn’t miss them if they weren’t around, but don’t you think Corrie are onto a loser from the beginning if hyping storylines around Ashley and Clurrrrrrrr is the best they’ve got to offer? I’d love to have been in that production meeting and I imagine it went something like this:

Corrie bod 1: "Someone’s got to talk to the press about Ashley and Claire."

Corrie bod 2: "It’s not my turn. I did the hyping for the ‘dramatic’ baby swap storyline."

Corrie bod 3: "Well don’t look at me. I did the press for the ‘dynamic’ father/son bookies – Harry and Dan Mason."

Corrie bod 4: "Well don’t look at me. I did the press for the ‘dynamic’ Morton family…what’s Gavin done lately?"

The press release I have goes on to say: "As for Vernon and Harry’s double departure, viewers wondering who’s going to be keeping landlady Liz warm at night could be in for a treat, thanks to a complex love-triangle."

Oh whoopie-do! A ‘complex’ love-triangle with the town bike, the boring bookie and the failed musician. Hardly Steve/Karen/Tracy, is it?

Gavin Blyth himself states: "There’s still plenty of time before Harry goes anywhere, so anything could happen. Though the spectre of Clarissa – Harry’s ex – is looming large, so it may not be straightforward for Liz. It’s fair to say that Clarissa isn’t necessarily finished with Harry yet and the idea of another woman trying to snare him won’t go down well. Liz may just find herself an archenemy before she finds herself another man."

I love Coronation Street, but come on guys! You can do better than this surely…..or can’t you anymore?

Official Sites
Coronation Street
Emmerdale
EastEnders
Hollyoaks

That’s it for now. Join me on Monday for a full preview of your favourite soaps. Got a comment about your favourite soap, this blog or anything else? Share it with me.

Ms Bubbles
MSN’s Eye On Soaps
Don’t miss a trick – Add MSN Reality TV Agent to your IM contacts

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How To Hype Boring Corrie Storylines

  1. Sam says:

    Corrie bod 1: "Someone\’s got to talk to the press about Ashley and Claire."Corrie bod 2: "It\’s not my turn. I did the hyping for the \’dramatic\’ baby swap storyline."Corrie bod 3: "Well don\’t look at me. I did the press for the \’dynamic\’ father/son bookies – Harry and Dan Mason." Corrie bod 4: "Well don\’t look at me. I did the press for the \’dynamic\’ Morton family…what\’s Gavin done lately?"
    hahahahahahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

  2. Soap Blogger says:

    Feel free to leave comments, but please keep them clean.
     (no name)26 May 10:18
    (http://cid-e4381df922393417.spaces.live.com/)I think corrie is a bit boring,but honest I only enjoy carla and Liam part.I think they should be together don\’t you see the chemistry.I am wondering when they leave what is going to happen,anyway I am reading that Maria is going to get pregnant again but I think that is bull. You know what I think why not let Carla get pregnant for Liam and give the baby to Tony just to spite Liam for what he has done to her,he needs to pay for how he treated her not Maria she is tired of paying.He likes to flatter himself too much.

Leave a Reply

