A Quickie With A Hollyoaks Bad Boy

Hello and welcome to A Slice Of Soap. Today it’s five minutes or so with Ashley Taylor Dawson. The 25-year-old is best known for playing Darren Osborne on Hollyoaks. He joined the show in 1999 but left in 2001 to join pop band AllSTARS (see video clip here). They had minor chart success with songs Best Friends and Things That Go Bump in the Night, and their own children’s TV show, STARStreet. The band split in 2002 and Dawson returned to Hollyoaks. He’s currently at the centre of a big gambling storyline, which will come to a shocking conclusion over Christmas. Here’s what he had to say…

If you had to be stuck in a lift with someone, who would it be?
"It would be either a really fit girl or someone like Jim Carrey, who could make me laugh."

What’s your biggest fear?

"Getting ill. I never get ill, so that would be a fear, wouldn’t it?"

Do you have any superstitions?
"I always touch wood when I say something. I just touched wood now when I said I’ve never been ill!"
If you could only have one song on your iPod, what would it be?
"Jump Around by House of Pain."

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever been given?
"Don’t get married, which my dad told me when I was five! No no, I don’t follow that. How about don’t eat yellow snow?"

What’s your indulgence?
"Going out, having fun. I go out all over – London, Manchester, Liverpool, Leeds."

Whose the most famous person in your mobile?
"Jimmy McKenna. He’s not very famous!" (McKenna plays Darren’s father Jack on Hollyoaks).

What item could you not live without?
"My guitar."

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?
"My long arms. I’ve got really long arms, well, forearms anyway."

Where are you going on holiday?
"I want to go away for New Year but I don’t know where yet, just to have a break."

What will you be doing this time tomorrow?
"I’ll be at my mate’s getting drunk, because I’ve only got one scene in the morning so I’m going to make the most of tomorrow."
© Press Association

In other news, it’s time for another award ceremony – this time, the All About Soap Awards. Hollyoaks is up for seven awards: nominees include:
Celeb Style – Best Dressed Soap star: Roxanne McKee (Louise)
Fit Fella – Sexiest Soap Stud: Jamie Lomas (Warren)
Soap Slap – Fave Bust-up: Warren and Darren (when Darren lost The Dog.)
Tearjerker – When Craig left without John Paul/ Jacqui’s miscarriage
I’m A Survivor – Bravest Soap Soul: Hannah Ashworth (Emma Rigby)
Fatal Attraction – Sizzling Couple: Rhys (Andy Moss) and Beth (Sinead Moynihan)

Well, I don’t know about you, but if there’s a Soap Fizzle or Drizzle (as opposed to ‘Sizzle’) award, I’d give it to either Corrie’s Ashley and Clurrrrr or Corrie’s Jamie and Violet. Boring, yaaaaawnsome people. Can’t wait for them to go…Get behind your favourite soap and VOTE HERE for the All About Soap Awards.

Official Sites
Coronation Street
Emmerdale
EastEnders
Hollyoaks

That’s it for now. Join me on Friday for more soap news and gossip. Got a comment about your favourite soap, this blog or anything else? Share it with me.

Ms Bubbles
MSN’s Eye On Soaps
Don’t miss a trick – Add MSN Reality TV Agent to your IM contacts

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

